Shadow Girl Reflects III: Reciprocity here, there, how about everywhere???

So, this week has been an experience. A learning one. A fun one. All of the above.

There was a decent abundance of hands-on activity that went on this week. A lot of play and experimentation with interactivity. Sound, mainly. But, it certainly can add a lot to a story, can’t it? Both the audible kind and the written equivalent. It’s an injection of life– noise, beats, rests, silence, rhythm.

Enough waxing poetic,though. Let’s get to the highlights!

Creative Enterprise on the Rise

It’s one thing to talk about the shapes networked narratives take and a whole other thing to actually be a part of the shaping. Even in some small way. This I found out early in the week.

First, some framing.

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been writing short stories here inspired by bot nonsense. You can find all of my work thus far under the Killing It tag. Fair warning, they’re all a little….unsettling. A bit disturbing. Were you really expecting anything else???

Anyway, this week’s story, a quaint, little apocalyptic nightmare check it out, inspired its own AU in the comments section. Perhaps AU is a bit of an understatement? Overstatement? Must consult @dogtrax to get a better answer. He’s the one who began this creative enterprise within a creative enterprise enigma.

To me, we networked a narrative. Collaborated to extend meaning. To meditate on meaning, really. How much of it can really be interpreted by a machine? And, what about the author’s intent–how much can they impose to shape understanding? How much can readers re-claim in some way? I felt like these questions were explored through the creative act here of storytelling.

I got a real kick out of interacting with Kevin. There was an essence of the unexpected in our exchanges. I never knew where he was going to lead/leave me. And, I assume he felt the same? I feel like what we did is something many larger scale networked narratives hope to accomplish–functioning reciprocity. Appreciation for appreciation. Story for story.

I appreciated exploring story with Kevin this week.

Sound & Silence

Speaking of appreciation….

Our main activity this week asked us to listen. Listen and appreciate. Savor the sounds that so easily disappear into the background, relegated to white noise. Accepted as a given.

In my post about this, I connected the idea of listening to caring–we listen only to what we care about it. Perhaps, I went off on a little tangent/rant… But, I was really struck by what Radiolab host, Jad Abumrad, discussed in this video–the idea that listening to others and then imagining with them can facilitate empathy which can have real world impact. It is something that Dr. Zamora definitely talks much about and she seems to really want to believe it. And, so do I. Like I say in my post, this is such a beautiful and optimistic idea. Something worth exploring more.

I think the affordances of incorporating sound into a digital space make it well worth the investment.

Blackout

And, at last, we arrive at last week’s in-class activity. Blackout Poetry.

I could not make a coherent–in sense or aesthetic–story out of any 3 or 4 posts from the network. 2, though, could make a poem. Look see here. Actually, I kind of turned this exercise into an extension of my aforementioned creative enterprise. Which, in layman’s turns, means I veered off from the task. Litte bit. Sorry. Not really.

Anyway, don’t check out that link if ritual/serial murder and implied cannibalism bother your sensibilities. That’s the disclaimer. Maybe it should come before the link….? Nah. Nobody freakin’ clicks them anyway.

Kudos to Stephanie for supplying the other half of the poem I pieced together ^.^ It’s much appreciated.

And, here’s my contribution:

img_4565

Flesh dreamed monstrous, dreamed somber, faceless vultures, abandoned skeletons, splendid demons of yesteryear, patient gargoyles.

It’s probably much appreciated that I wasn’t allowed to pick the theme for this exercise either.

I really enjoyed this activity and hope to be able to incorporate some idea of subtraction in order to form meaning to my work. Something I played around with in the Elit piece I made last semester was sound and taking it away. Silence and how it manifests or is made to manifest is a big area of interest for me. So, I’m totally game to play around with what meaning I can discover via what I don’t say.

****

As always, the Links:

Daily Digital Alchemies

@dogtrax–blog

Catch everyone on the flip side!

3 Comments

  1. This blog is so chuck full of smart reflection, I find I am at a loss to know where to start.

    Can I just quote my favorite lines?:

    -On Sound: “noise, beats, rests, silence, rhythm”. -I especially enjoy your ongoing contemplation of the power/use of silence. As you well know (and have played with to great effect) the absence of sound can carry profound meaning.

    -On unforeseen creative collaboration: “I feel like what we did is something many larger scale networked narratives hope to accomplish–functioning reciprocity. Appreciation for appreciation. Story for story.” -This wisdom is a keeper. I am thinking that the notion of “a functioning reciprocity” is a version of our “digital gold” – a learning outcome for this overall #NetNarr experiment. I am over the moon (and humbled) with your articulate understanding of this magic.

    -On listening: “the idea that listening to others and then imagining with them can facilitate empathy which can have real world impact. It is something that Dr. Zamora definitely talks much about and she seems to really want to believe it. And, so do I.” -ahhhh. To believe in this idea is a bit like holding vigil. I light my little candle, believing that we can imagine together in ways that can be transformative. And then I feel some kind of faith growing in me while reading this blog.

    Thanks so much for everything Kelli. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelli I just truly love your blogs and woa, I was able to contribute to your creativity. Our two sentence really do go together and they could be the start of something… Your reflections were very insightful. Oh and I do love your short stories. Where do you find the time to be so innovative and original? Looking forward to next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Steph!
      Your creativity helped spark my own, what can I say? Keep it up!
      And, I admit I have to make time to write these stories. But, it’s a labor of love. I see stories in snippets and just have to give them life. The effort is always worth the final result 🖤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

